From ancient to modern technology…a summary of Web 1.0/2.0/3.0

After this week’s presentation, I am left to ponder whether I truly understand the meaning of Web 3.0. As a teacher and a student, I feel confident in my abilities as a Web. 1.0 and Web 2.0 user. I believe this to be true due to the progression of the internet as I grew up using it. My earliest memory of using Web 1.0 began when I was in high school, I learned how to navigate my way around the net simply by using Google. Although at this time, the only purpose for using the internet was for conducting research for school work. Shortly after, Web 1.0 transitioned into Web 2.0 and I found myself using the internet for much more other than just for research. Although I do not consider myself to be an expert at using Web 2.0, most of my exposure to the web resides here and I am comfortable communicating, collaborating and sharing on the web.

As Erin summarizes in her blog this week:

Web 1.0
– a static web
– students consume content online
– read-only ecology
– goal is to make information available for Internet users
– a “good student”, according to Web 1.o, is someone who understands how to use search engines and uses the information from websites to enhance their learning

Web 2.0
– dynamic web
– students are producers, not simply consumers of information
– read-write ecology
– goals are to connect, communicate, and collaborate with others online
– a “good student” is someone who communicates, connects, and collaborates on the web. A “good student” is someone who uses the web to create and share content

Web 3.0
– reinvention of the web
– community generated content
– personalized, self-determined, interest-based learning
– a “good student” is someone who is a self-determined, interest-based, networked learner

According to Gerstein, “The web influences people’s way of thinking, doing and being”. I believe this metaphor to be accurate simply because the web is definitely an influential tool. People often use the web daily within their lives and have become reliant upon it. In fact, social media has become one of the primary reasons why people choose to use the web and I am sure we can all agree that social media is influential. The web also impacts student learning. Teachers are granted with the opportunity to utilize the World Wide Web within their teaching practices but for some, this change may bring hesitation as not all teachers feel comfortable using it. Perhaps this is due to a lack of professional development or some teachers feel that the traditional forms of teaching are just as productive, without the need to incorporate Web 2.0 or 3.0. Certainly, the needs of our learners has drastically changed over time as not every child obtains information the same. Therefore, we must remain open to the idea that maybe the web can provide additional support to those who need it. Furthermore, experiencing Web. 2.0 and 3.0 may be beneficial and a constructive reality.

I feel very grateful to have had the opportunity to participate in last week’s EC&I 833’s twitter chat lead by Erin, Kyle, Naomi, Angus and Heidi. Not only did I find the chat extremely useful and productive, but I also found that it helped me to better understand the content surrounded around Web 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0. I appreciated reading the responses from my classmates as well as my co-workers. Everyone’s thoughts and opinions were inspiring and helpful.

Within my primary classroom, I often make an attempt to incorporate technological learning into my daily lessons. The internet offers a wide range of educational resources which can be used to assist in our teaching. I consider myself to be a privileged teacher as my classroom has 5 laptop computers and 2 IPads available for student use. However, the resources available to my students outside of the classroom is unfortunately out of my control. I’m sure there are several students in my classroom who do not have access to technology or the internet within their home. Currently within society, disadvantaged students consists of the lower-socio economic status groups as well as those who do not have the opportunity to work with technology because of barriers such as funding or for policy reasons. As we’ve learned from class as well as from the twitter chat, technology and the internet has truly widened the playing field but it is only valuable to those who have access to it.

4 thoughts on “From ancient to modern technology…a summary of Web 1.0/2.0/3.0

  1. Nice reflection Roxanne. I too do not fully understand Web 3.0 and feel that I have just started to figure out Web 2.0. If this is where we are in our learning and understanding it is understandable why school lag behind a bit as well.

    Like

  2. I really like the chart you have summarizing web 1.0 – 3.0. I’m not entirely sure I understand Web 3.0 yet either hence the reason I haven’t written my blog yet haha. I’m hoping that after reading some of the articles and fellow classmate blogs that I’ll be able to share some thoughts on this.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Throw away that curriculum…web 3.0 is coming! | Ashley Murray

  4. Access is a very important issue when considering whether these technologies have created an even greater barrier for learning. Yes, many who are privileged and have access are supported with their learning but I fear that those without access are further disadvantaged.

    Like

Leave a Reply

