Let the learning begin in EC&I 834!

_dsc3146-copy

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! My name is Roxanne Leung, I am a Grade 3/4 English teacher at Elsie Mironuck School. Before teaching Grade 3/4, I taught Core French among many other subjects for six years. Although I enjoyed teaching the French language and culture, I was ready for a new experience and gladly accepted a classroom position at the beginning of the 2016/2017 school year. I truly enjoy having my own classroom as it offers a different kind of experience, allowing me to create closer relationships with my students as well as establish routines. Aside from my profession, I am also a wife, daughter, sister, and soon to be mother. My husband and I are expecting our first child in April, 2017. We are beyond excited and simply cannot wait to meet the newest addition to our family!

_acm6860-textb

This is my seventh master’s class and third EdTech course with Alec and Katia. I really enjoy taking online classes with Alec and Katia as these classes allow me to balance work, school as well as my personal life. Furthermore, I am able to learn in the comfort of my home yet remain connected to so many wonderful individuals, some within my current profession and others that offer new experiences/perspectives in regards to education. I have to admit, when I first began taking online courses I was beyond nervous and extremely self-conscious as I did not (and still do not) consider myself to be too technologically-savvy. However, with help from Alec, Katia, and my classmates, I have grown both technologically and professionally. Technology is used often within my everyday life and I am learning how to use it for educational purposes in order to expand my PLN (Personal Learning Network) and find helpful resources which I can use to assist in my teaching. You could say, before I only used technology for entertainment purposes but now I truly see how crucial technology and the internet is when it comes to finding useful tools that offer different learning experiences that are beneficial to both my-self and my students.

Throughout this course, I hope to learn many things in regards to both blended (face-to-face) and online learning as well as effective assessment/evaluation strategies to follow. For this course, I have set three goals for learning. First, I would like to explore new teaching resources and programs that can be incorporated into my classroom to assist within my day to day teaching, specifically at the primary level. Second, I’d like to become more active with my twitter account as well as participate in more Twitter Chats, as I have had the opportunity to participate in two and found them to be extremely engaging and useful! Lastly, I would like to gain new ideas about how I can create and present my summary of learning project. Within past classes, I have used a program called Animoto that displayed my learning in the form of a slide show with a voice recording. I have also created a Podcast in the form of an interview conversation. Both of these tools were quite simple to use as well as an enjoyable way to display my learning. However, I would like to try something new this semester so if any of you have any ideas for user friendly programs, please let me know. I’d love to hear any ideas you may have to offer!

I am really looking forward to this semester! I am excited for all us to grow both professionally and technologically together. With that being said, let the learning begin! Thanks for stopping by everyone!

Leave a Reply

